College Governance

Stairs003Sarum College is an independent charity.

Charitable activity income comes from educational programmes, bookshop and library, charitable hospitality and property income.

Hospitality is an important part of Sarum’s life and purpose. The College has a trading subsidiary for hospitality revenue and gratefully accepts grants, donations and legacies. These funds help us to offer theological education more widely.

The full accounts can be found on the Charity Commission website and the financial review is on page 8 of that document.

The Bishops of Salisbury and of Bath and Wells are at all times Foundation Trustees by virtue of their office. New or additional Trustees are appointed by the existing body of Trustees. Trustees (other than the Foundation Trustees) serve for a four-year term and are then eligible for re-appointment for one further four-year term only.

The Trustees are responsible for overseeing Sarum’s management and administration. Their responsibilities include:

  • Sarum’s policies, finances, budget and management;
  • envisioning Sarum’s future;
  • planning Sarum’s strategic development; and
  • giving guidance and direction to the College Leadership team.

The Board of Trustees have three appointed committees. These are the Finance and General Purposes Committee, The Board of Studies and the Nominations and Remuneration Committee.

The Principal, The Revd Canon Professor James Woodward, working with the College’s leadership team, is  responsible for Sarum’s day-to-day management.

Other members of the College leadership team are:

Mr Gary Gifford, General Manager of Hospitality
Mr Mark Manterfield, Director of Finance and Facilities
Ms Christine Nielsen-Craig, Director of Communications and Marketing
Dr Jayme Reaves, Director of Academic Development

Current Trustees of the Sarum College

Foundation Trustees

The Rt Revd Peter Hancock, Bishop of Bath and Wells

The Rt Revd Nicholas Holtam, Bishop of Salisbury

Nominative Trustees

The Revd Andrew de Ville

The Ven Sue Groom

Mrs Rosemary Macdonald  B.E.M.  MSc,  Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

Mr Tim Mynott

Sir Marcus O’Lone

The Rt Revd Alastair Redfern, Chair

Ms Clare Sellars

Professor Jane Shaw

Professor David Sims, Chair of the Board of Studies

The Revd Canon Dr Robert Titley

Nominative Co-optive Trustees

Ms Emma Osborne

In Attendance: The Revd Canon Professor James Woodward, Principal, Mr Mark Manterfield, Director of Finance and Facilities and Robert Card, Staff Representative

In a time when formal religion seems to struggle to connect with people — Sarum, in its message and its methods, offers a special place and a series of imaginative communities for nourishing the soul, growing wholeness, and giving confidence for a richer future. The way of Christ being opened through joining in the seeking and sharing of a Spirit of grace and goodness. Sowing seeds of new hope amidst individual anxiety and institutional insecurity.

The Rt Revd Alastair Redfern, Chair of Trustees

Throughout all of the now nearly 40 years of ordained ministry, I have drawn refreshment, inspiration and peace from Sarum College. When I was a Vicar in a busy parish with lots on my mind and heart I would book in for a few days to read and to study and to refresh my own spiritual wellbeing.  Part of the delight of staying in the college was being able to engage with the daily offices in the Cathedral. It is the same today. Whenever I turn into the Close and drive into the college car park my spirit begins to lift. It is a privilege now, as Bishop of Bath & Wells, to continue to be involved in supporting the wonderful work and welcome that is part of Sarum College today.

The Rt Revd Peter Hancock, Foundation Trustee

Sarum College is a registered charity in England and Wales, Charity No. 1161253, Company No. 951356. Sarum College’s trading subsidiary is Sarum College Services Ltd, Company No. 1931038.

For more information on Sarum College governance and charitable activities, visit the About Sarum College page or the Charity Commission website.