Centre for Contemporary Spirituality

This Centre offers academic, vocational, personal and devotional opportunities to explore spirituality widely, with courses for continuing ministerial development, and intellectual and professional growth and renewal.

Dr Karen O’Donnell is the Centre coordinator and programme leader for the MA in Christian Spirituality. Dr O’Donnell is a feminist, ecumenical, practical theologian whose interdisciplinary research interests span theology, spirituality, and pedagogy.

Comment from the Francis and the Sultan course (Sept 2019):

‘(This course) has impacted my thinking more deeply than I expected and left me with a lot I still have to process. I found myself asking questions about Islam that I have not felt a need to know the answers to before – and aware of the barriers on both sides to real spiritual friendship and fellowship between deeply spiritual people and that mattering to me in a new way.’

Learning Opportunities within the Centre for Contemporary Spirituality

  • All Courses & Events

  • Spirituality Courses

    Fri 06

    Autumn Silent Retreat

    Fri 6 November, 3:00 pm to Sun 8 November, 3:00 pm
    Thu 12

    Sarum Course in Spiritual Direction: Session 2: 12-13 November 2020

    Thu 12 November, 8:00 am to Fri 13 November, 5:00 pm
    Mon 30

    Embodying Wisdom

    Mon 30 November, 2:00 pm to Thu 3 December, 2:00 pm
    Mon 18

    The Nature of Contemporary Spirituality

    Mon 18 January 2021, 2:00 pm to Thu 21 January 2021, 2:00 pm
    Thu 21

    Sarum Course in Spiritual Direction: Session 3: 21-22 January 2021

    Thu 21 January 2021, 8:00 am to Fri 22 January 2021, 5:00 pm
    Mon 15

    Mass Culture: Theological Engagement and Spiritual Practice

    Mon 15 February 2021, 2:00 pm to Thu 18 February 2021, 2:00 pm
    Thu 04

    Sarum Course in Spiritual Direction: Session 4: 4-5 March 2021

    Thu 4 March 2021, 8:00 am to Fri 5 March 2021, 5:00 pm
    Mon 08

    Western Christian Mysticism

    Mon 8 March 2021, 2:00 pm to Thu 11 March 2021, 2:00 pm