Centre for Encountering the Bible

Opportunities to read, explore, discuss and interpret biblical texts and their ancient contexts from diverse perspectives.

We want to read and interpret the bible for many different reasons: not only for historical information, moral guidance or spiritual wisdom but also to encounter each other and God and for the sheer pleasure of it. We want to read and interpret the bible for many different contexts: not only of Christian church but also in the context of political questions and contemporary culture. We want to read and interpret the bible from many different angles: not only liberal and conservative but also secular and interfaith.

Dr Jayme Reaves is the Centre coordinator. Dr Reaves is a Public Theologian, working with congregations and communities to reflect on the public impact of their theology. She is an Honorary Fellow at the Queen’s Foundation for Ecumenical Theological Education and the author of the 2016 book, Safeguarding the Stranger: An Abrahamic Theology and Ethic of Protective Hospitality, which looks at the practice of providing sanctuary to the threatened other in the Jewish, Christian, and Islamic religious traditions and their sacred texts.

  • All Courses & Events

  • Encountering the Bible Courses

    Tue 25
    Mon 26

    Greek in a Week 2019: Learning to Read the New Testament in Greek

    Mon 26 August, 8:30 am to Sat 31 August, 2:30 pm
    Wed 04

    An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew 2019: Hebrew I

    Wed 4 September, 8:30 am to Fri 6 September, 4:00 pm
    Mon 09

    An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew 2019: Hebrew II

    Mon 9 September, 8:30 am to Wed 11 September, 4:00 pm
    Mon 04

    Biblical Study Break: Digging into Isaiah

    Mon 4 November, 1:00 pm to Thu 7 November, 2:00 pm
    Wed 20

    Gospel of Matthew

    Wed 20 November, 10:00 am to 4:00 pm
    Mon 10

    Greek in a Week: Learning to Read the New Testament in Greek

    Mon 10 August 2020, 8:30 am to Sat 15 August 2020, 2:30 pm